Carnegie Classification

The Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education is a framework for classifying colleges and universities in the United States. The framework primarily serves educational and research purposes, where it is often important to identify groups of comparable institutions. The classification includes all accredited, degree-granting colleges and universities in the United States that are represented in the National Center for Education Statistics Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS).

The framework consists of 6 classification dimenions represented below; the category within which USC Aiken falls is noted:

Classification Dimension   Category
Basic   Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields
Undergraduate Instructional Program   Balanced arts & sciences/professions, no graduate coexistence
Graduate Instructional Program   Postbaccalaureate: Arts & sciences-dominant
Enrollment Profile   Very high undergraduate
Undergraduate Profile   Four-year, full-time, inclusive, higher transfer-in
Size and Setting   Four-year, small, primarily residential

A flowchart highlighting USC Aiken within the complete Carnegie framework is provided for download.